Military Service on my tree

03Mar13

I use a program to display my online family tree called TNG (The Next Generation of Genealogy Software).

It is a dynamic website that displays information and photos about people from a database (rather than the “old-fashioned” approach of static html files for every page).

I was reminded this weekend that there is a great report section, allowing easy creation of reports from the databases on a variety of topics.

I remembered that I have a report called “Military Service“, that lists all of the people in my database that have served in the military.

Unfortunately, I have done a poor job identifying and tracking those people who have served. (For example, my dad isn’t listed, and he retired from the Navy after more than 20 years of service).

First, I need to use a standard convention for tracking the “event” of military service (I have been using a mixture of about 7 different events).

Second, I need help finding out from my cousins and aunts who they can remember.

Third, I am going to use Fold3 and Ancestry.com to look up older relatives’ data.

If you know of anyone who served in our military (or in any government service), please let me know.

No Responses Yet to “Military Service on my tree”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

