Elliot Proctor Joslin M.D., founder of the Joslin Diabetes Center

17Feb10

Dr Elliot P Joslin

About 3 years ago, I was diagnosed as a type I diabetic. My first weeks as a diabetic were frantic and fearful. Until a friend (who has been a diabetic for decades) insisted I go to the Joslin Diabetes Center in Boston.

What a difference. The doctors were knowledgeable and friendly, they explained it all in simple terms, and turned the fear into determination. I don’t know where I would be without them.

I found out later that the Joslin Diabetes Center is the premier diabetes research and treatment center in the world.

I was blessed by my friend, and by living in Boston a short T ride away from the clinic.

The Joslin Diabetes Center was founded by Dr. Elliot Proctor Joslin, who was the first doctor in the United States to specialize in diabetes. He revolutionized long-term care by being the first to advocate for teaching patients to care for their own diabetes, an approach now commonly referred to as “DSME” or Diabetes Self-Management Education.

He also pioneered glucose management, realizing that tight glucose control leads to fewer and less extreme complications.

Dr Joslin was my 7th Cousin 4 times removed through our shared ancestor Moses Cleveland.

Jerry Milo Johnson to Dr. Elliot Proctor Joslin

No Responses Yet to “Elliot Proctor Joslin M.D., founder of the Joslin Diabetes Center”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

